Tags

, , , , , ,

Crocheting is something that I really have only tried a few times. And with fall around the corner, I wanted to start working on a few items to equip my family for the cold.

Not your typical crocheted beanie. Which is exactly what I was looking for.

You can find the pattern here at String Theories and other Whimsy – Mountain Girl Hat.

Here is mine:

It took me working on and off (an hour or two at a time) about 3 days to finish this. I ommited the last 2 rows because I didn’t want it to be so floppy but almost have a brim to it. I think it turned out pretty well!

I added a crochet flower to embellish. If you want to add something like this you can check out Skip to my Lou. This site has 10 different ways you can create crochet flowers to embellish items. As far as my center piece I used something from my Grandmother’s old costume jewelry. If you don’t have access to something like this check out local flea markets or maybe even DAV’s or Goodwill’s.

Another way to embellish would be to weave ribbon through rows 11 and 13. I thought about this but didn’t have ribbon I thought would work well with the look I was going for.

(Tips: I feel that this hat is sized for a child 18mo-younger. To change the size (around), increase/decrease the amount of DC in row 1. Then adjust as you go through the pattern for the amount you increased/decreased. If you need to lengthen, I suggest repeating rows 8&9 as needed.)

Give it a shot! Happy crafting!!

