Tags

, , , , , ,

It seems as of late I have only been working on crochet items. So why not another crochet tutorial?
I’m beginning to make the items for winter and decided to start with a scarf. I honestly spent a few hours looking over tutorials (that sounds horrible…hours…). I didn’t want your basic double crochet scarf. I had wanted to use the Broomstick Lace Stitch I used for making bracelets; I love the look, but hate the amount of time it can take, especially if you were to use it on a larger project.

So I kept looking, and found a wonderful tutorial; lots of pictures, and great detail with a stitch that I loved. You can see the original tutorial I used for the star stitch here at Crochet Spot – Star Stitch.


Because the original tutorial explains just the stitch, I needed to create my own scarf pattern. I dislike working into a base chain. I don’t know if it’s just the way I stitch (I stitch tight, i’m working on it), so i’ve used a FSC -Foundation Single Crochet as my base. If you are needing some pointers on how to do this stitch, check out Crochet Geek. She has several video tutorials, very helpful.

 – Side Note: After realizing I needed larger crochet hooks when attempting the Broomstick Crochet Bracelets, I did check out my local Wal-Mart’s craft section and found a Boye pack of size P and Q hook. (Let’s say I was more than ecstatic to get home and give them a try on this scarf.)

This is my first attempt at writing up my own crochet pattern, so bear with me. Please let me know if something doesn’t look right.

Star Stitch Crochet Scarf

FSC – Foundation Single Crochet
SC – Single Crochet
CH – Chain
HDC – Half Double Crochet
YO – Yarn Over

I think gauge, hook size, yarn size…all personal preference within reason. I used size P hook and 4 ply worsted for a little more chunk to my scarf.

Row 1: FSC 101 (or desired ODD amount of chains, it will seem long but the stitch gathers a little)
Row 2: Pull up a loop in next FSC from end FSC and in each of the next 4 FSC. (should have 6 loops on the hook) YO and pull through all 6 loops, ch 1 to close. *Insert hook in ch 1 space, pull up a loop, insert hook in the ch space from the last stitch of the last star, pull up a loop. Pull up a loop in the next 3 FSC. (should have 6 loops on the hook) YO and pull through all 6 loops, ch 1 to close.* Continue from * to * til end. HDC in last FSC, turn.
Row 3: Ch 2, 3 HDC in each ch 1 space of the previous row’s star til end. Ch 3, turn.
Row 4: Pull up a loop in ch space 2 ad 3 on the turning chain, and then in each of the next 3 HDC. YO and pull through all 6 loops, ch 1 to close. *Insert hook in ch 1 space, pull up a loop, insert hook in the ch space from the last stitch of the last star, pull up a loop. Pull up a loop in the next 3 HDC. (should have 6 loops on the hook) YO and pull through all 6 loops, ch 1 to close.* Continue from * to * til end. HDC in last chain, turn.

*Repeat Rows 3 and 4 until you have your desired width.*

Last Row: Ch 1, SC in each HDC to end. Finish off. 

And ta-da! I’m pretty pleased with how this turned out. I have some large buttons I think i’ll add, once again i’m lacking in materials (a crochet needle that is.)

Happy Crafting!

